Need combat advices as a Galleon.

• Ahoy!

Now it might seems weird to ask for help when riding the biggest, supposedly most powerful ship in the game, yet here I am doing just that. I have a lot of experience on Sloops and Brigantines, but when it comes to Galleons, it's a whole different story and my crew and I lose fights that I am pretty sure we would have won as a smaller ship. I feel like it shouldn't be the case, and I take it on myself. As the main wheelman, I feel like those defeats are in great part because of me not handling the ship properly. I tend to try to apply Sloop/Brig combat techniques that unsurprisingly won't work on the Gally. I just don't know any better.

So if you guys have good tips for me (especially on the wheelman perspective), it would be greatly appreciated. General tips like role distribution and priority management would be awesome too! Also if you guys know a link to a good tutorial, that would be great. I searched youtube for such tutorials but all I could find were very basic tutorials about the galleon features (masts and barrels locations on the ship) or tutorials about how to fight AGAINST galleons. As for streamers, those I know that regularly play on gallies tend to stick to the cannons/boarding, sadly.

Views
  • The Galleon is the weakest ship, and can be kited while blindfolded. Only option is to find an island or rock to protect one side and turn yourself into a rotating gun battery, as the only good thing about the Galleon is the cannons.

• The Galleon is the biggest and the most difficult craft to master in SOT. It has great firepower yet hard maneuverability and those are both its strength and weakness.

A good skipper should know the vessel, it's possibilities (never anchor if not absolutely necessary etc) and over all know the SOT map by memory in order to track the best course for the ship. At full billow the Galleon is the fastest ship on SOT.