Is this how it starts?

• I'm new to seafaring, barely 6 hours spent aboard a sloop. Throughout my fledgling career, I've considered myself a sailor rather than a pirate. An enterprising individual seeking modest riches on the waves, running errands for the companies. I keep my distance from others, taking flight at the first sight of sails on the horizon (the need for caution was instilled in me on my second ever voyage, after a bushwhacking from a galleon while I was ashore digging up a chest). My clumsy fingers make me ill-suited to swashbuckling and I'll freely admit that I've no taste for blood. However, to my shame, I can no longer declare myself innocent of misdeeds...

Two nights ago, I was on a Gold Picaroon voyage for the Gold Hoarders. Three maps for four treasures. After digging up two chests at the nearest of the three markers, the second stop took me to Shiver Retreat - a lonely, forsaken spur of rock. As I approached, I spied a figure in the shallows. He fired a pistol into the water, where a shadow lurked. A shark, I reckoned. There were no sails in sight (perhaps the shark had eaten this fellow's vessel and he was seeking revenge?), but experience made me wary. I thought I would continue to my third destination and come back later on.