Pirate Game in UE4

• Over the summer I started working on a pirate game in Unreal Engine 4 inspired by Sea of Thieves and a smaller game made by a friend. This is my first project in UE4 and it is fully programmed in blueprints (UE4's visual scripting system)! The objective of the game is loosely defined - find treasure, earn gold, gain special abilities, craft things, form crews. If you would like to join the private multiplayer tests in the future, message me your steam account and I'll let you know when I host the server!

Current features:

• Steam multiplayer
    • Item system
    • Level system (not sure if this will be used yet)
    • Combat system (swords, guns, animations, models)
    • Player account saving (inventory, level, name, etc.)
    • Ocean, one island, & day/night cycle
    • Chat system

Gifs from development and multiplayer testing:
    alt text
    alt text
    alt text
    alt text
    alt text
    alt text
    This was one of the more interesting bugs to deal with.
    alt text
    This happened after messing with character movement settings. The running name currently is Underwear Pirates Dolphin Simulator.
    alt text

Anyway, this project was awesome to work on. Development went from all day every day to 0% when classes started 10 weeks ago, but I still plan to finish it some day...

These 2 tutorials were a big help on this project:
    Blueprint Multiplayer
    RPG Tutorial Series

Views
  • @dampedmarrow435 nice job keep it up

• @dampedmarrow435

Looks quite amazing so far! Keep at it! :)

• @dampedmarrow435 Wow! Great work so far!

• @enougherclues @Capta1n-Cr0ss @stacky-a Thank you! I haven't shown this to anyone before now other than my 10 steam buddies who help with testing. If anyone wants to join multiplayer tests in the future, message me your steam info!

• You do know Rare is hiring, right...? This is amazing.I started learning game design with Unity and never could get the hang of it. I wonder if UE4 would be easier.