Are people normally such?

• @combatxkitty please write me how to play alone, I often play alone and maybe I missed something
    I really want the developers to add an NPC bot when the player is playing alone. The bot would inform me about ships at sea or turn the steering wheel using the player's commands

• @sonaea said in Are people normally such jerks?:

I'm pretty new to this game, but so far I love it. It has all the sandbox exploration and adventure that I absolutely love in a game. Thing is, now I'm not sure how much I want to keep playing.

Welcome to the Sea of Thieves!

Today while I was playing solo on a couple different occasions other players decided to kill me and take all my stuff.Both times when I saw them I went out of my way to try and project that I just wanted to try and be friendly and do my own thing, but seems like that wasn't an option.

So really, that's just Sea of Thieves. The intention is that you venture out into this world and meet other players sometimes on your journies. Those players could be hostile as all get out or they could be friendly charitable pirates. Sometimes you win and sometimes you lose. That's the game.

Normally I avoid this kind of problem by playing single player or on a private server but that isn't an option in this game.

So Sea of Thieves is a unique case. It's actually a game whose multiplayer experience variety and social diversity thrives on having no play style divides (such as single player or private servers) you're subject to the shared world with all player types in it. And that's really what makes the game special.

Is this normally how people play this game, ganging up on a lone player to screw them over? As much as I love the game so far, I'm not sure if I want to keep playing if that's all I have to look forward to.