New player here. Need help understanding some mechanics

• Hi all, I just started playing, and I'm trying to figure some stuff out. Am I right in understanding that there is no persistence in the game? Any time I log off and back on, I am in a completely different part of the map with nothing on my ship (in my storage barrels or items i placed on deck). All of my quests are gone, any notes i found are no longer there. Is this normal? Just making sure I'm not doing something dumb to preserve my stuff. If this is normal, then we are expected to find new canon balls and food every time I log on before setting out to do something?

Thanks in advance!

Views
  • yeah it's session based

you keep all your stats for commendations and events but as far as supplies and quests that all resets

• You are correct, nothing carries over other than gold earned, doubloons or whatever cosmetic you bought. If you have treasure on your ship, sell it before you log off. Nothing is actually yours until you sell it.

• Every session is new and different.

Imagine playing D&D but a new DM every single time.

At first it’s a turn off but your learn to appreciate it!

There will be BAD sessions and BAD crews but there will also be ones you’ll remember forever!

• Voyages are gone? I hope you don’t mean the ones you haven’t voted on. The ones in your inventory.

• @liquidboard2 Yep, that's right. Every new session is a new crew and a new adventure on a new ship. It might seem counter-intuitive if you're largely playing solo, but the mechanics have to make sense for multiplayer crews fundamentally. At the end of the session, the game treats the ship as scuttled, I believe.