New to game

• Hi all
    I’m new to the game in fact I’m new to Xbox (ps4 player but wanted to try some xbox exclusives as I’m bored). I’m 36 playing most days in the uk.

I have been playing the game for around 2 hours and so far it seems like a good game that I could put a lot of hours into, sadly so far I really have no idea what’s going on in the game.

I turned it on and chose a pirate, I then did the “go to key guy” and the “buy a new clothing item” and then it said go to your ship and that’s where it all got weird!
    I was on my ship and there were no more totorial tips so I didn’t know what to do, I put one of the contracts i got into the table but it didn’t show me where to go or explain what the contract was, I then found the map which didn’t show any waypoint until I clicked on one so had no idea where to go or what to do.
    Before I had a chance to try and figure things out 3 more people joined and started shouting orders so I just did what was being voiced out - like raise sails, head north etc.
    After visiting a few islands (these people seemed to know where to go) and seeing them running around with chests while I was constantly running around trying to keep up with them and dying or getting lost lol - these 3 people all had “pirate legend” as a title so I thought I was in good hands.