This game needs more long term motivation

• So my friends and I started playing SoT this week and are really excited about this beautiful game. While we will still enjoy the game for a few more weeks, we already have the feeling that at some point there will be missing long term motivation to play the game.
    I think there needs to be more to SoT, things you can achieve to keep playing. So here are some suggestions:

The only thing you can grind right now are cosmetics which really doesnt change too much. In my opinion, it would be great if there were upgrades to your ship or your weapons (for example mortars or a ram). This should be balanced with the standard weapons and just add more variety to the fight and long term motivation as well.
    Also, there should be a better leveling system, for example unlocking items with level. That keeps players grinding.

I read a bit into the forums to find out what the community wants from this game and I recognized that there are two kinds of groups in SoT: Some want the game to be more PvE (for example askin for PvE servers) and some are enjoying the PvP aspect more (more ships per map). So I think there should be added content on both sides:

PvE
    -hunting whales (there are a lot of articles about this already)
    -more difficult raids
    -maybe another monster (pottwhale?)

PvP
    I think there should be some kind of multiplayer mode added into the game.
    The PvE players have less trouble with PvP because the PvP players would play the MP, but the great concept of PvEvP remains the same.

As a person who really doesnt like Battle Royale games too much (why does every game need a BR?), I still have to say that this game has one of the best potentials for it. This game already has the basics of BR which is a big map, loot and a storm.
    The best part is that dying would mean something (no respawn) which makes the feeling of this game even better in my opinion.