VR 360 screenshots?

• I just started playing around with a Gear VR -- my first VR device. One of my favorite things to do on it is look around 360 photos / 3D environments. While researching how I might be able to produce my own 360 panoramas via photography, it occurred to me that I might be able to do the same with game screenshots!

Any pirates here have experience doing that sort of thing? Any tips?

I will try first in another game with fewer dynamics, like fast-changing lighting, before trying Sea of Thieves. But 3D screenshots could be a great way to examine details without expecting a sword in your back at any moment.

What locations in Sea of Thieves might be best for 360 panoramas?

Views
  • @hallower1980 I'd love a 360 view of Smugglers Bay from the inside of the bay please! :D

• @hallower1980 I imagine doing that would be relatively straightforward. Likely just need some video footage of you doing a 360. Hold a banana (for scale) because its the smallest item, dump the video to still images, then use a panorama stitcher. If you have access to photoshop it should (I think) be able to cut out the banana's and stitch it into a panorama pretty easily

For best results (if your using a pc) boot the game into a resolution above 1080p, if you don't have a uhd monitor most gpu drivers have a virtual super resolution option you can enable to bump it up.

• Ooh, I might make one of an underwater reef. Then VR users could examine it free of sharks... or breathing.

• Success! My first test set in the interior of Dragonsreach in Skyrim turned out well. I feared my laptop might explode when the stitcher software reported its 200th iteration, but it was a quicker and simpler process than I expected.