Gold and Reputation

• I have played video games since the days of the Odyssey (pong machine). I am not a developer, a code monkey, or anything of the sort. I am a game enthusiast, and I have a love/hate relationship with SoT. For many reasons, but I will stick to Gold and reputation here.

The first thing I do not understand is what the purpose (other than Legend) is in "Leveling up" (buying promotions). I am at 23/23/22. On a Gold Hoarders voyage I may come back to an outpost with 4 castaways and a seafarers chest. My kids voyage, level 5-ish, we come home with one Captains and a Seafarer. This is not always, but it seems to be more often than not. There just seems no point to reputation in general. yes, the voyages give you more to do and a longer voyage, but the rewards seem minimal, especially when the Reputation line is barely perceptible in its movement.

Second issue is how the gold and reputation is awarded. everything is awarded on turn in. I suppose in a thematic sense it makes perfect sense. From a gamer's stand point it makes zero sense (to this gamer anyway). Using the Gold Hoarders as an example, I may go out, uncover three chests under the red "x"s, then solve a riddle. The voyage complete frame splashes across the screen. But the voyage really hasn't completed, I just received nothing. Same with the Order of Souls, defeat a handful of boss skellies on an island, voyage complete. But, I receive nothing for doing so, until I turn in. I get it...from a thematic standpoint.

Never present a problem without a possible solution...
    Issue 1- increase the frequency of better chests/skulls at higher levels. create better unlocks (full sets) that happen at the factions to encourage promoting.