been away for a while and need help

• I started playing sea of thieves at launch but ive been away for the past year i think and there is so much stuff added im a little lost.

The skeleton NPC boats are amazing, im so happy they're in the game now! i mean theres so much been added but they're my favorite

the bit i don't understand is the emissary part? and i can only afford one so if anyone can explain i would appreciate it.

Views
  • The emissaries are there for players willing to risk additional PvP in return for a boost in loot and reputation in the faction you choose. Some players have misunderstood the system and have come to the forums to complain about the additional PvP. Make no mistake, joining the emissaries was intended to put pressure on you from other crews. They will want to take your flag. Here is a good introduction to the system. He goes through it a little too quickly for some reason but the details are in there.

And welcome back.

• @kenneth-mcgrew
    so you choose a faction to represent and then you raise their flag by voting at the appropriate table.
    there are 5 ranks and you move up the ranks by doing faction specific stuff (finding treasure for gold hoarders, defeating skellys for OoS, etc).
    the higher your rank the more of a boost you get when selling your loot.

the reapers are a faction about pirating. you can raise the flag at any outpost but you can only sell at the reapers hideout (but they buy anything). raising the reapers flag will make you visible on all players maps though, but getting up to level 5 while flying the reapers flag will let you see other players on your map (and letting you pirate more)

being sunk with your flag up will put your flag down and lose your ranks. it’ll also leave a flag that is valuable to the reapers (all about the pirate life for them).

hitting rank 5 will also let you get some special emissary missions from your faction.