Are people cheating? Is this ever going to be resolved?

• So I've gotten thousands of hours in this game, sunk hundreds of player ships, achieved legendary sea dog and legend of sea of thieves, I've solo'd no less than 30 fleets with a broken arm and won sloop arena matches solo against worthy crews, I've stolen some of the rarest items in the game using stealth, recon and cunning, but I feel like I'm still a complete noob when I see ships and players pulling off some of the things I'm about to describe. I've searched every forum and guide on the internet and watched hundreds of hours of the best streamers in the world and I don't have a clue or explanation besides cheating for what I'm experiencing and at this point I can't even be mad at these players, because the official sea of thieves channels seem to be completely oblivious to these things too, I've seen no streamer or youtuber mention them and I'm at a complete loss where to turn.

Double gunning: is this just forever part of the game or is it cheating to shoot both of your guns at a single moment in time appearing as a single shot? I can't even believe this is lag as I have a great connection, and experience little to no other anomalies in player movements or behaviors besides this increasingly frequent occurrence. Joe Neate told me himself this is not how the game is supposed to be played and has attempted multiple times to fix this, but it seems to be getting worse where I now clearly see these people shooting two projectiles as one singular instant kill shot. How are they achieving this and is it cheating? I've seen guides explain a quicker way to swap weapons and frankly it seems unsportsmanlike, but to shoot both shots instantly seems completely bogus imho.